A Reference Library for Customs, Excise, Goods & Services Tax Officers and Tax Payers

Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)

What is Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)

Pay Your Tax Honestly

Know the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)


Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC) is a one of the Boards constituted under the statute the Central Boards of Revenue Act, 1963 (54 of 1963) and is subordinate to the Department of Revenue under the Ministry of Finance, Government of India. It deals mainly with the tasks of formulation and implementation of policy concerning to the levy and collection of Customs duties, Central Excise duties and Goods & Services tax, prevention of smuggling and administration of matters relating to Customs, Central Excise, Service Tax and Narcotics to the extent under CBEC's purview. The Board is the administrative authority for its subordinate organizations, including Custom Houses, Central Excise Commissionerates and the Central Revenues Control Laboratory.

The CBEC is headed by a Chairman and has 6 members in addition to the Chairman. In the performance of its administrative and executive functions, the CBEC is assisted by Principal Chief Commissioners/Chief Commissioners and Principal Director Generals/Director Generals. The Principal Commissioners/ Commissioners working under the Principal Chief Commissioner/ Chief Commissioner’s supervision also discharge executive functions.

Organisational Chart of the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)

Organisational Chart

Chairman & Members of the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)


CBEC Chairman & Members

Smt. Vanaja N. Sarna Chairman 01.04.2017 - 30.06.2018
Smt. Vanaja N. Sarna Member 25.05.2015 - 31.03.2017
Shri. S. Ramesh Member 01.10.2016 - 31.12.2018
Shri. Mahender Singh Member 01.05.2017 - 31.12.2018
Shri Susanta Kumar Panda Member 17.07.2017 - 30.04.2019
Smt. Ameeta Suri Member 14.07.2017 - 31.03.2019
Shri Pranab Kumar Das Member 01.09.2017 - 30.04.2020
Dr. John Joseph Member 06.11.2017 - 31.05.2020

First Chairman of the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)

Shri B.N. Banerji was the first Chairman of the Central Board of Excise and Customs - 1964-67. Shri Banerji was the Chairman of the then Board of Revenue which covered both direct and indirect taxes. When the combined Board was later replaced by two Boards, the CBDT and the CBEC, he continued to be the first Chairman of the CBEC. Shri Banerji was from the Imperial Customs Service of the British era and was credited with encyclopaedic knowledge, going way beyond the revenue matters. Report of the U.S. Delegation to the Eighteenth Session of the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, Washington, June 28, 1963 shows that Shri B.N. Banerji was Indian Representative to the 18th Session of the United Nations Commission on Narcotic Drugs. The United Kingdom representative nominated Shri B.N. Banerji as Second Vice-Chairman. His nomination was supported by the representatives of the United States and many other countries (Ref: http://history.state.gov/historical-documents/frus1961-63v25/d345 ).

B.N. Banerji Memorial Lecture - By Shri Parthasarathi Shome

Present Chairman of the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)

Photo of Smt. Vanaja N. Sarna, Chairman, CBEC

Shri. Smt. Vanaja N. Sarna, IRS (C&CE:1980) took over charge of the Chairman, Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC) on superannuation of Shri Najib Shah, (IRS C&CE:1979) on 31.03.2017. She was holding the charge as Member (Administration) while being elevated as Chairman.

Smt. Vanaja N. Sarna has served Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC) in several capacities over the last 36 years. These include postings in Customs, Central Excise and Service Tax formations in Kochi, Delhi, Chennai, Meerut, Chandigarh and Bangalore. She has also worked as Additional Director General, National Academy of Customs, Excise & Narcotics (NACEN), in Chennai. She was also Additional Director General in the Directorate General of Revenue Intelligence, New Delhi. She also served on deputation as Under Secretary, Legislative Department, Ministry of Law and as Director/ Joint Secretary in the Rajya Sabha Secretariat.

Prior to becoming Member, Central Board of Excise and Customs, she held the charge of Director General of Vigilance and Chief Vigilance Officer of the Department.

Previous Chairman of the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)

Photo of Shri. Najib Shah, Chairman, CBEC

Shri. Najib Shah (IRS C&CE:1979), appointed as Chairman of Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC), took over the position from Kaushal Srivastava (IRS C&CE:1978) who retired on June 30, 2015.

A 1979 batch IRS officer and former Director General of the Directorate of Revenue Intelligence (DRI), he had joined CBEC in May, 2015 as a member. Shri. Shah is the senior most among the six members of the CBEC.

Shri. Shah is famous for his honesty and integrity and also for his fearlessness. He will have a tenure as Chairman till March 2017, probably the longest tenure as Chairman in recent past.

Some of the Chairmen/ Members retired in the recent past.

Disclaimer | Updated on
All Rights Reserved ©2005-18.
Customs, Excise and Goods & Services Tax Referencer®